世界咖啡市场

Table of Contents
全球咖啡市场经历了疯狂的几个月,是的,考虑到过去两年非常疯狂!因此,我们想与您分享有关精品咖啡供应链的两个主要要素正在发生的事情以及您可以如何准备的最新信息。

嗨咖啡爱好者,

全球咖啡市场经历了疯狂的几个月,是的,考虑到过去两年非常疯狂!因此,我们想与您分享有关精品咖啡供应链的两个主要要素正在发生的事情以及您可以如何准备的最新情况:

  1. 商品市场咖啡价格
  2. 全球运费和时间表

我们分享此更新是为了让您和您的事业为 2022 年将带来的一切做好准备,并鼓励您就这一切如何影响您的事业和我们取得联系。我们准备得越充分,就能更好地应对摆在我们面前的挑战。好消息是,如果我们的行事方式与精品咖啡行业一直表示的价值观一致——农民的公平价格、透明度、可持续的咖啡行业——那么我们不仅会度过难关,而且我们未来几年,另一边也将看到一个更好、更公平的精品咖啡行业。

我们将一起茁壮成长。

商品市场咖啡价格

在过去的 6 个月里,商品咖啡的价格从 $1.25 上涨到 $2.25 美元/磅。

参考:纳斯达克网站

https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/commodities/kt%3Anmx

如果您以前从未查看过全球市场价格,那么主要的收获是:

商品级咖啡(咖啡评分低于 80 分)的价格在 6 个月内上涨了 80%。

尽管精品咖啡不在商品市场上买卖,但大多数精品咖啡,特别是那些得分在 80-85 分之间的咖啡,其定价方式仍与商品市场相关。在今天的某些情况下,$2.25 USD/lb 的新商品价格实际上是 更高 甚至是从 2021 年 1 月开始支付给专业生产商的费用。

这意味着得分为 80-85 分的咖啡价格将迅速上涨。多少将取决于来源、品种、过程以及农场或出口商的规模。但您可以预期,鉴于市场波动的剧烈程度和发生的速度,价格从 $2.00 上涨至 $3.00 美元/公斤将是相当正常的。

如果您想更详细地了解市场为何如此急剧上涨,以下是一些可以让您深入了解的好资源。

补充阅读:

https://www.news24.com/fin24/Markets/Commodities/coffee-surges-to-7-year-highs-with-more-cold-headed-for-brazil-20210726

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-coffee-global-supplies/brazil-coffee-frost-sparks-default-fears-crop-recovery-may-take-years-idUSKBN2ES2CR

虽然我们的行业长期以来一直需要这样的价格转变,但这种剧烈调整的催化剂是 气候变化 严重影响了全球最大的咖啡生产国巴西。今年的干旱和霜冻损害了咖啡树,不仅影响了本季的收成,也影响了 2022 年甚至可能 2023 年的收成。这是7年来对该国造成的最大环境破坏。

没有人确切知道价格会保持如此高位多久,但根据 2014 年发生的情况,价格可能会保持 12 个月的高位。

参考:纳斯达克网站

https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/commodities/kt%3Anmx

你能为这个做什么?

用三个词:预测和计划。

没有办法避免这一点。您现在购买的完全相同的咖啡的成本迟早会上涨。最终,您需要为增加的成本做好准备,并确定您的企业是否会承受它,或者将部分或全部转嫁给您的批发和零售客户。

但这并不全是厄运和悲观。事实上,我们认为这是一个 机会 推动我们的行业向前发展。这就是 价值 精品咖啡行业的人进来了。你知道我们一直在谈论如何向农民支付公平的价格,并确保精品咖啡的生产是可持续的吗?嗯,今年 6 月左右的估计生产成本估计在 $1.20-1.80 美元/磅左右,这取决于原产地、精品咖啡农场的位置以及在那里收获咖啡的难度。作为过去 10 年的历史平均水平,市场价格约为 $1.30 美元/磅。根据这些数字,生产商正在以低于生产成本的价格出售咖啡。所以,这次价格上涨真的让我们明白了市场多年来一直存在的观点 被低估 咖啡。作为一个专业行业,这不是我们的目标。

现在,如果我们共同为生产者制定更公平的价格,我们可能会发现自己正在为 更公平的精品咖啡行业.这可能意味着,当商品市场重新开始低估咖啡生产并且向生产者支付低于其生产成本的报酬时(这在历史上就是这样做的),精品咖啡行业和像您这样的烘焙商将展示出强大的力量和成为解决方案一部分的愿景并把钱放在嘴边 是时候给处理者公平的报酬了.

如果我们选择成为解决方案的一部分,成功的下一个关键步骤是 教育.生咖啡进口商、烘焙商、咖啡师、咖啡馆和最终的咖啡消费者需要意识到,价格上涨不仅仅是因为巴西的干旱和霜冻。气候条件只是为我们所有人提供了推动一杯精品咖啡的成本接近其所需的动力 真的 价值。如果您的咖啡师和您的客户能够理解这一事实,并且仍然回来享用优质咖啡,那么他们会感觉很好,因为他们知道自己为优质产品付出了更多,并且他们的大部分资金直接流向了生产商。确保收到此消息是我们所有的工作。

全球运费和时间表如何?

自 Covid-19 大流行开始以来,国际供应线、空运和海运已经越来越紧张,以至于交货时间越来越长,许多东西的库存经常用完。

现在,不幸的是,我们对此无能为力。但重要的是要意识到,因为除了咖啡本身的成本上涨之外, 运费 从原产地到其他任何地方的咖啡也在上升,而且时间框架变得不可预测。由于世界各地的货运公司都面临着巨大的需求,他们只是没有像过去那样在时间范围内运送所有东西所需的船只和飞机。

因此,对于咖啡,生豆容器是:

  • 离开原点需要更长的时间,
  • 它们的总体成本要高出 30-100%,
  • 他们到达目的地的时间比预期的要晚。

随着世界从供应链的重大中断中恢复过来,这种情况在未来 9 个月或更长时间内不太可能缓解。

你能为这个做什么?

同样的三个词:预测和计划。

解决此问题的最佳方法是与您的生豆供应商沟通。他们应该拥有关于将咖啡运到您的国家需要多长时间以及您应该预料到的延误的最新信息。

但是,请帮您自己、您的企业和您的客户一个忙:不要指望在缺货前两天就能买到咖啡。供应链紧张,成本上升。您通常的生豆供应商不太可能会保留额外的库存,只是等您打电话索要几袋。

未雨绸缪。计算保持业务运营所需的条件。考虑与它签订合同,以便您的供应商持有您需要的库存,或者考虑在您的烘焙店中储存缓冲库存。您还可以计算出您可能会使用的替代来源,以防您目前最常使用的产品(例如巴西或埃塞俄比亚)缺货,因为在当前环境下,这种情况必然会发生。

如果您想计划来自任何特定来源的供应,无论是下个月还是未来 12 个月,请与我们的任何销售团队交谈,以便我们可以就适合您的业务、您拥有的选项以及如何为您提供建议最好处理正在发生的当前事件。

您可以随时联系 [email protected]

现在让我们一起努力做精品咖啡行业 更好、更强、更公平.

保持咖啡因。

哈比卜·马尔巴尼

项目来源 |总经理

Stay up to date!​

随时了解我们的 Project Origin 项目和最新的精品咖啡生豆进口

News and updates

World Coffee Market

It’s been a wild few months in the global coffee market, and yes, that’s considering the last two years have been pretty wild! So we wanted to share an update with you about what is happening with, and how you can prepare for, two major elements of the specialty coffee supply chain.

Hi coffee lovers,

It’s been a wild few months in the global coffee market, and yes, that’s considering the last two years have been pretty wild! So we wanted to share an update with you about what is happening with, and how you can prepare for, two major elements of the specialty coffee supply chain:

  1. Commodity market coffee prices
  2. Global freight rates and timeframes

We share this update to prepare you and your business for what 2022 will bring and to encourage you to get in contact about how this all can work with your business. The more prepared we are, the better we can navigate the challenges that are staring us in the face. The good news is, if we act in a way that’s true to the things the specialty coffee industry has always said it values – fair prices for farmers, transparency, a sustainable coffee industry – then not only will we get through this, but we’re also going to see a better and fairer specialty coffee industry on the other side for years to come.

Together we will thrive.

Commodity market coffee prices

In the last 6 months, the price of commodity coffee has risen from $1.25 to $2.25 USD/lb.

Reference: Nasdaq.com

https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/commodities/kt%3Anmx

If you’ve never looked at global market prices before, the main takeaway is this:

The price of commodity level coffee (coffee scoring less than 80 points) has increased by 80% in 6 months.

Even though specialty coffee is not bought and sold on the commodity market, most specialty coffees, particularly those scoring between 80-85 points, are priced in a way that is still connected to the commodity market. In some cases today, the new commodity price of $2.25 USD/lb is actually higher than what was previously paid to specialty producers, even from January 2021.

What this means is prices of coffees scoring 80-85 points are going to move up rapidly. By how much will depend on the origin, the variety, the process, and the size of the farm or exporter it comes from. But you can expect that price rises of $2.00 to $3.00 USD/kg will be pretty normal given how sharp the market has moved and how quickly it’s happened.

If you want to know why the market has moved so sharply upwards in more detail, below are some good resources to give you insight.

Additional reading:

https://www.news24.com/fin24/Markets/Commodities/coffee-surges-to-7-year-highs-with-more-cold-headed-for-brazil-20210726

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-coffee-global-supplies/brazil-coffee-frost-sparks-default-fears-crop-recovery-may-take-years-idUSKBN2ES2CR

While a shift in price like this has been needed in our industry for a long time, the catalyst for such a dramatic adjustment has been the climate change severely impacting Brazil, which is the largest global coffee producer. The droughts and frosts this year have damaged the coffee trees not only for this season’s harvest, but also for 2022 and possibly 2023 harvests as well. It is the largest environmental damage caused to the country in 7 years.

No one knows for sure how long prices will stay so elevated but based on what happened in 2014, it is possible prices stay elevated for 12 months.

Reference: Nasdaq.com

https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/commodities/kt%3Anmx

What can you do about it?

In three words: forecast and plan.

There’s no avoiding this. Sooner or later the cost of the exact same coffee you’re buying now will rise. Ultimately you need to prepare your business for the increased cost and work out whether your business will wear it, or pass some or all of it on to your wholesale and retail clients.

But this is not all doom and gloom. In fact, we see this as an opportunity to propel our industry forward. This is where the value of the specialty coffee industry comes in. You know how we’ve always talked about paying fair prices to farmers, and ensuring specialty coffee production is sustainable? Well, the estimated cost of production at around June of this year was estimated around $1.20-1.80 USD/lb, depending on the origin, the location of a specialty coffee farm and how hard it is to harvest coffee there. The market price would be around $1.30 USD/lb as a historical average over the last 10 years. By these numbers, producers are selling their coffees below cost of production. So, this price rise has really just brought home the point that for many years the market has under-valued coffee. And as a specialty industry, this is not what we are about.

Right now, if we collectively establish fairer prices for producers, we might find ourselves laying the foundations for a fairer specialty coffee industry. And that might mean when the commodity market returns to under-valuing coffee production and paying producers less than their cost of production (which is historically what it has done), the specialty coffee industry, and roasters like you, will have demonstrated the power and the vision to be part of the solution and put your money where your mouth is when we say it’s time producers were paid fairly.

If we choose to be part of the solution, the next vital step to success is education. Green coffee importers, roasters, baristas, cafes, and the final coffee consumer need to be aware that this price rise isn’t only happening because there was a drought and frost in Brazil. The climate conditions simply gave all of us the momentum we needed to drive the cost of a cup of specialty coffee closer to its true value. If your baristas and your customers can appreciate that fact, and still come back to enjoy fine coffee, then they will feel good knowing they are paying more for a quality product and a larger proportion of their money is going directly to producers. It is all our jobs to ensure that this message is received.

What about the global freight rates and timeframes?

Since the Covid-19 pandemic began, international supply lines, air and sea freight have been increasingly stretched to the point where delivery times are blowing out and stock of many things run out as a regular occurrence.

Now, this one, unfortunately we can’t do much about. But it is important to be aware of because on top of the rising cost of coffee itself, the cost of shipping coffee from origin to anywhere else is rising too, and the timeframes are becoming unpredictable. Because freight companies everywhere are experiencing massive demand, they just don’t have the ships and planes needed to move everything in the kind of timeframes they used to.

So, for coffee, containers of green beans are:

  • taking longer to leave origin,
  • they are costing 30-100% more overall,
  • they are arriving to their destinations later than expected.

This situation is not likely to ease for the next 9 months or more as the world recovers from the major disruptions to supply chains.

What can you do about it?

Same three words: forecast and plan.

The best way to work through this is communicating with your green bean supplier. They should have the most up-to-date information about how long it’s taking to get coffee into your country and what delays you should expect.

But do yourself, your business, and your customers a favour: don’t rely on there being coffee available to purchase two days before you run out of stock. Supply chains are stretched and costs are going up. It’s unlikely your usual green bean supplier will be holding on to extra stock just waiting for you to call and request a few bags.

Plan ahead. Calculate what you need to keep your business operating. Consider contracting it so your supplier holds stock you need, or maybe consider storing buffer stock in your roastery. You can also work out alternative origins you might use in case what you’re currently using most often, like Brazil or Ethiopia, runs out of stock because in this current environment it’s bound to happen.

If you want to plan for supply from any particular origin, whether for the next month or the next 12 months, chat to any of our sales team, so we can give you advice on what might suit your business, the options you have and how best to tackle the current events that are occurring.

You can always get in touch at [email protected]

Now let’s work together to make the specialty coffee industry better, stronger, and fairer.

Stay caffeinated.

Habib Maarbani

Project Origin | General Manager

Our coffee

Learn about our sourcing philosophy and the origins we supply