东帝汶

Coffee varietal Hybrido de Timor cherries ripe on tree Timor-Leste
Table of Contents

东帝汶的特色咖啡产业正在与咖啡生产合作伙伴 Orijem Timor 合作,将东帝汶的农民与全球市场联系起来,我们为参与其中感到无比自豪。我们正与我们的合作伙伴一起努力以可持续和渐进的方式分享和种植来自美丽东帝汶的特色咖啡,这将使 1000 多个咖啡生产家庭在未来数年受益。 

在澳大利亚政府商业合作平台 (BPP) 的自豪支持下,Orijem Timor 于 2021 年基于三家公司之间的合作伙伴关系成立,每家公司都有相似的价值观和目标。当地公司 Kape Diem Coffee Lab 培训农民并与他们合作种植和加工优质特色咖啡。澳大利亚绿豆出口公司 Project Origin 利用国际联系将咖啡出口到世界各地的烘焙商。最后,澳大利亚营利性项目服务公司 1LM 通过规划、管理和联络服务帮助实施该项目。

我们正在共同努力实现东帝汶咖啡社区的目标,这些目标将改善社区的生活方式、性别平等、环境影响和可持续贸易。

东帝汶的咖啡

咖啡于 1800 年代由葡萄牙人首次引入东帝汶的土壤,如今它是该国经济中最大的非石油出口产品。咖啡行业为就业做出了巨大贡献,并在农村社区发挥着重要作用,但咖啡生产面临一些关键障碍,如国际咖啡价格波动、当地道路和基础设施以及全球对东帝汶的需求等,要发挥更大的潜力。咖啡。除了这些障碍,Orijem Timor 还认识到社会和环境挑战。随着全球咖啡消费量的增加,消费市场应该扩大他们的视野,并寻求从世界各地更多地采购咖啡豆。 

东帝汶最常见的品种是 Hybrido de Timor,俗称 Timor Hybrid,由阿拉比卡咖啡和罗布斯塔咖啡杂交而成。这种变种显示出来自父母双方的积极属性,因为它能够在比某些阿拉比卡品种所需的土壤更肥沃的土壤中生长,它对病虫害具有更强的抵抗力,但它具有很好的品质,当它得到照顾和照顾时处理得当,能在杯中呈现精彩。我们将通过提供东帝汶青豆来展示这些特性以及农民和生产者的才能。

Orijem Timor 的主要目标

该伙伴关系旨在通过与当地农民合作改善他们的农场和种植特色咖啡,创造更多的出口机会和更好的咖啡价格,从而鼓励东帝汶的经济增长和就业。它还将引入更好的实践来改善咖啡加工的环境可持续性,并为女性在咖啡行业中发挥重要作用。该倡议已经支持 170 多个东帝汶家庭种植优质咖啡樱桃,并在其运营的第一年增加了他们的收入。 

虽然该项目计划在 3 年内进行,但我们相信这些变化会产生数十年的影响,因此 Project Origin 致力于实现大大小小的成就。 

我们想要达到什么目的?

小规模:鼓励农民从种植商品级咖啡转向加入精品级咖啡种植者网络,开发更高质量的作物,改善最佳实践教育并改善可持续农业

中等规模:为农民创造更高的需求并实现更高的价格

大规模:将东帝汶发展为咖啡目的地,以支持旅游业和全球品牌知名度

我们将如何衡量成功?

我们相信 Orijem Timor 的成功将包括到 2023 年看到 1000 名农民加入精品咖啡网络,到 2023 年总出口产量将达到 180 吨。我们将看到全世界对东帝汶咖啡的兴趣增加,并增加与当地人的联系代表。东帝汶将作为咖啡生产目的地印在地图上,通过搜索引擎优化和营销实现在线可见性和知名度。

我们将与当地农民、我们在东帝汶的合作伙伴以及主要外交官建立牢固的关系,以帮助推进这项工作。

我们的主要目标

Orijem Timor 将努力实现三个关键目标:

  • 更好的农业,更好的味道
  • 促进可持续农业
  • 建立女性在咖啡行业的角色

为了更好地了解这些目标将如何影响咖啡行业,我们将更详细地探讨它们。

更好的农业,更好的味道

就像 Project Origin 在其他国家的模式一样,我们致力于与农民建立长期关系。我们在东帝汶的实地合作伙伴 Kape Diem 正在努力与农民建立联系,并为他们提供所需的知识和资源,以改善他们的农场并将他们的产品提升为令人惊叹的精品级咖啡。 Orijem Timor 与每位农民合作,提供培训和可持续农业改进,以提高作物质量和产量,进而增加收入。这些改进自然会带来更好的价格和更好的收入。 

为了进一步提高农民的收入,Orijem Timor 正在通过提供咖啡的收获前采购协议来加强与农民的关系。这意味着农民和生产者能够只专注于樱桃和收获,而不是将注意力分散在咖啡和与收入相关的问题上。 

此外,Orijem Timor 将支持一个实验农场,以推动东帝汶咖啡质量的创新。该农场将包括测试不同品种及其在该地区的生长能力、改进维护技术和探索使咖啡农业适应不断变化的气候的方法。 

促进可持续农业

Orijem Timor 将致力于解决与咖啡生产相关的三个主要环境影响,并在整个咖啡产区实施解决方案,以确保自然环境不受威胁。三个主要影响和解决方案包括:

  • 能量消耗;湿磨机将由太阳能供电
  • 用水量;将建造水库来收集和储存用于加工的水
  • 废水污染;将探索和实施处理过的水的潜在再利用

此外,通过 Kape Diem 进行的农民培训,将鼓励种植者通过在咖啡树之间种植替代作物来自然地改善土壤质量。

Kape Diem 咖啡实验室的 Miledis。

建立女性在咖啡行业的角色

尽管女性和男性都大量参与咖啡生产,但女性通常不那么引人注目,发展自己或获得更高收入的机会也更少。这些增长限制不仅限于咖啡生产,因为从历史上看,女性在整个东帝汶的村庄和社区中进步、种植或拥有土地的机会较少。

性别平等对我们的合作伙伴 BPP 至关重要,我们共同致力于采取切实可行的步骤来支持和发展女性在咖啡行业的角色,并促进资产增长,并鼓励培训和技能发展。其中一些步骤包括供应合同,在可能的情况下需要丈夫和妻子双方签字,而从历史上看,这只是由作为一家之主的男人签署,而妇女则直接获得工作和收成的报酬,而不是而不是通过男性伴侣发送收入。作为该产品的绿豆出口商和代销商,Project Origin 不仅致力于推广东帝汶 Orijem通过这个国家的工业。

我们的初尝

Orijem Timor 很荣幸在外交与合作部长于 2022 年 2 月访问堪培拉期间与帝汶和澳大利亚政府的代表团分享其第一季农产品的风味。马尼奥部长阁下、阿尔梅迪亚大使阁下和澳大利亚外交部长International Development and the Pacific 参议员 Seselja 收到了公司运营的最新信息,并品尝了 2021 年收获期间生产的两种极好的咖啡。这包括来自 Maubisse 的水洗咖啡和来自 Ermera 的屡获殊荣的实验性自然工艺批次。两位部长都对品尝咖啡感到兴奋,马格诺部长评价了 Orijem Timor 提升东帝汶作为高品质有机咖啡生产国形象的潜力。

提供给部长们的样品只是 Orijem Timor 目前向澳大利亚、亚洲和中东的烘焙商出口的众多独特的帝汶特色咖啡中的两种。

有了这些主要目标和合作伙伴之间的强大联盟; Kape Diem、Project Origin、1LM 和 BPP – Orijem Timor 将在东帝汶建立一个可持续的精品咖啡行业。它将被考虑到环境、社会平等和经济上的可持续性,最终的额外好处是越来越美味的杯子轮廓。 Project Origin 为参与这样一个整体项目而感到自豪,我们迫不及待地希望我们的每一位烘焙合作伙伴在未来的许多年里品尝东帝汶社区的工作。

Stay up to date!​

随时了解我们的 Project Origin 项目和最新的精品咖啡生豆进口

News and updates

Orijem Timor

Timor-Leste’s specialty coffee industry is being put on the map with coffee production partnership, Orijem Timor, connecting farmers in Timor-Leste to global markets, and we couldn’t be more proud to be involved. Together with our partners, we are working towards sharing and growing specialty coffees from the beautiful Timor-Leste in a sustainable and progressive way that will benefit 1000+ coffee producing households for years and years to come. 

With the proud backing of the Australian Government’s Business Partnership Platform (BPP), Orijem Timor was formed in 2021 based on a partnership between three companies, each of whom share similar values and goals. Local company, Kape Diem Coffee Lab, trains farmers and works with them to grow and process high-quality specialty coffee. Australian green-bean export company, Project Origin, uses international connections to export coffee to roasters around the world. Lastly, the Australian profit-for-purpose project services company 1LM helps deliver the program with planning, management and liaison services.

Together, we are working towards achieving goals in the Timor-Leste coffee community that will improve the community’s way of life, gender equality, environmental impacts and sustainable trading.

Coffee in Timor-Leste

Coffee was first introduced to the soils of Timor-Leste by the Portuguese in the 1800’s, and today it is the largest non-oil export for the nation’s economy. The coffee industry contributes greatly towards employment and plays a big role in rural communities, however there are some key barriers that face the coffee production from reaching greater potentials including the fluctuating international coffee prices, local roads and infrastructure, and global demand for Timor-Leste coffee. Beyond these barriers, Orijem Timor recognises social and environmental challenges as well. With global coffee consumption on the rise, the consuming market should be expanding their field of vision and looking to procure coffee beans from more origins around the world. 

The most common varietal grown in Timor-Leste is Hybrido de Timor, commonly known as Timor Hybrid, which was grown from a cross between arabica coffee and robusta coffee. This variant shows positive attributes from both parents, as it is able to grow in soils less fertile than that required for some arabica varietals, it has a greater resistance to pests and diseases, and yet it holds a great quality that, when cared for and processed correctly, can show wonderfully in the cup. We will be showcasing these attributes, and the talents of the farmers and producers, through our offering of Timor-Leste green beans.

The key goals for Orijem Timor

The partnership was built to encourage economic growth and jobs in Timor-Leste by working with local farmers to improve their farms and grow specialty coffee, creating greater export opportunities and better coffee prices. It will also introduce better practices to improve the environmental sustainability of coffee processing, and provide influential roles for women in the coffee industry. The initiative has already supported over 170 Timorese households to grow high quality coffee cherries and boost their income in its first year of operation. 

While the project is scheduled to take place over a 3-year plan, we believe these changes can make an impact for decades, and so Project Origin is committed to seeing small and large achievements fulfilled. 

What do we want to achieve?

Small scale: encourage farmers to switch from growing commodity grade coffee to join the network of specialty grade coffee growers, develop higher-quality crops, improve education of best practices and improve sustainable farming

Medium scale: build higher demand and achieve higher prices for farmers

Large scale: develop Timor-Leste as a coffee destination to support tourism and global brand recognition

How will we measure success?

We believe success for Orijem Timor will include seeing 1000 farmers by 2023 join the specialty coffee network and a total export yield of 180 tonnes by 2023. We will see an increase in Timor-Leste coffee interest across the world and an increase in contacts with local representatives. Timor-Leste will be stamped on the map as a coffee producing destination, complete with visibility and awareness online through search engine optimisation and marketing.

We will build strong relationships with farmers on the ground, our partners in Orijem Timor, and key diplomats to help further this work.

Our key goals

Orijem Timor will be working towards three keys goals:

  • Better farming for better taste
  • Promoting sustainable farming
  • Building women’s roles in the coffee sector

To best understand exactly how these goals will impact the coffee industry, we will explore them each in further detail.

Better farming for better taste

Much like Project Origin’s model in other countries, we are committed to forging long-term relationships with the farmers. Our on the ground partner in Timor-Leste, Kape Diem, is working to connect with farmers and equip them with the knowledge and resources they need to improve their farms and elevate their produce into amazing specialty-grade coffee. Orijem Timor works with each farmer to provide training and sustainable farming improvements in order to increase crop quality and output, in turn generating increased income. With these improvements naturally comes better prices and a better income. 

To further improve the farmer’s incomes, Orijem Timor are strengthening relationships with farmers by offering pre-harvest purchasing agreements for the coffee. This means that the farmers and producers are able to focus on the cherries and harvesting alone, rather than divide their attention between coffee and income related concerns. 

Additionally, Orijem Timor will support an experimentation farm for the purpose of advancing innovations in coffee quality for Timor-Leste. This farm will include testing different varieties and their growth capabilities in the area, improving maintenance techniques and exploring methods of adapting coffee agriculture to survive the changing climate. 

Promoting sustainable farming

Orijem Timor will be working to address three main environmental impacts that are associated with coffee production, and implementing solutions throughout coffee producing areas to ensure the natural environment is not at risk. The three main impacts and the solutions include:

  • Power consumption; wet mills will be solar powered
  • Water consumption; reservoirs will be constructed to collect and store water for processing
  • Waste-water contamination; the potential re-use of treated water will be explored and implemented

Additionally, through farmer training conducted by Kape Diem, growers will be encouraged to naturally improve their soil qualities by planting alternative crops in between the coffee trees.

Miledis of Kape Diem Coffee Lab.

Building women’s roles in the coffee sector

Despite both women and men being heavily involved in coffee production, women are typically less visible and offered fewer chances to develop themselves or receive higher incomes. These growth restrictions are not limited to coffee production, as historically women have had less opportunity to progress, grow, or hold lands in their villages and communities throughout Timor-Leste.

Gender equality is critical for our partner BPP, and together we are committed to building practical steps towards supporting and growing women’s roles in the coffee industry, as well as enable asset growth, and encourage training and skills development. Some of these steps include supply contracts requiring a signature from both the husband and wife where possible, when historically this was signed by just the man as the head of the family, as well as the women being paid directly for their work and harvests, rather than sending their income via their male partners. As the green bean exporters and on-sellers of the product, Project Origin commits to promoting not only the work of Orijem Timor and the coffees from the farmers and producers throughout Timor-Leste, but also focusing on the promotion of women and their contributions to the industry through this country.

Our first taste

Orijem Timor was proud to share the flavours of its first season’s produce with delegations from both the Timorese and Australian Governments during the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation’s visit to Canberra in February, 2022. H.E. Minister Magno, H.E. Ambassador Almedia, and Australia’s Minister for International Development and the Pacific, Senator Seselja, received an update on the company’s operations and tasted two of the fantastic coffees produced during the 2021 harvest. This involved a washed coffee from Maubisse and an award-winning experimental natural process lot from Ermera. Both ministers were excited to taste the coffees and H. E. Minister Magno commented on Orijem Timor’s potential to raise Timor-Leste’s profile as a producer of high quality organic coffee.

The samples provided to the ministers are just two of the many unique specialty Timorese coffees that the Orijem Timor is currently exporting to roasters in Australia, Asia and the Middle East.

With these major goals in place and a strong alliance between the partners; Kape Diem, Project Origin, 1LM and BPP – Orijem Timor will be building a sustainable specialty coffee sector across Timor-Leste. It will be environmentally considered, more socially equal, and economically sustainable, with the final added bonus being increasingly tasty cup profiles. Project Origin is proud to be involved in such a holistic project and we can’t wait for each and every one of our roasting partners to taste the work of the Timor-Leste communities for many years to come.

Discover more news and updates

Our coffee

Learn about our sourcing philosophy and the origins we supply