新闻和更新

世界咖啡师锦标赛的项目起源

由荷兰阿姆斯特丹世界咖啡博览会主办的 2018 年世界咖啡师锦标赛正在如火如荼地进行中。

来自 50 多个国家的全国咖啡师冠军齐聚阿姆斯特丹参加为期三天的比赛。预赛现已结束,半决赛选手已于今天凌晨宣布,几名参赛者使用 Project Origin 采购的咖啡进入下一阶段。

波兰——阿涅斯卡·罗耶夫斯卡

目前排名第二的是波兰咖啡师冠军Agnieska Rojewska。使用项目原点 CM 精选(钻石) 抽签来自埃塞俄比亚,Agnieska 首次晋级半决赛。

除了在世界上最大的咖啡师比赛中进入半决赛,Agnieska 还获得了 4 次全国拿铁艺术冠军(2017 年世界拿铁艺术锦标赛第三名)、3 次全国咖啡师冠军、伦敦咖啡大师赛冠军和波兰啤酒杯锦标赛的亚军。

新西兰——约翰·戈登

同样晋级半决赛的还有新西兰咖啡师冠军约翰·戈登。他第三次在世界舞台上比赛,约翰之前曾代表英国参加 WBC。

在他的排位赛中,John 使用了 Project Origin-sourced CM精选系列 埃塞俄比亚的咖啡。在他的日常生活中,他谈到了原产地之旅和他对技术的热爱如何激发了他的灵感。

“当我第一次去[埃塞俄比亚]旅行时,我情不自禁地爱上了这个国家和人民,”他对感官评委说。

“然而,我不禁注意到他们在加工咖啡时面临的困难……这种潜在的限制归结为现代资源、技术和技术的可及性。”

约翰说,他注意到许多洗涤站和工厂都经历了电力不足或停电的情况。他认为, 碳酸浸渍法 过程是一种加工咖啡的有效方法,没有不受控制的发酵风险,也不需要电源。

“……每一个变量都受到控制和测量,一旦发酵完成,樱桃就会被取出并在高架床上干燥,”他向评委解释道。他使用的咖啡是在埃塞俄比亚梅西纳的 ZB 洗涤站加工的。

“[ZB] 洗涤站由 Ayana 经营,”John 解释道。 “在 Project Origin 的帮助下,[他] 进行了实验性的碳酸浸渍批次,这表明埃塞俄比亚咖啡具有更大的风味多样性。”

南非——温斯顿·托马斯

重返世界舞台的还有南非咖啡师冠军温斯顿·托马斯。作为两次全国咖啡师冠军和前南非爱乐压冠军,温斯顿也选择使用 Project Origin CM精选系列 非常感谢他的表演,使用来自 红翡翠 类别。

温斯顿的表现集中在 身份。 在整个例程中,他使用有关咖啡风味的信息来分享咖啡的身份 碧玉0818 很多与感官法官。

“我第一次爱上了拔罐桌上的这种咖啡,”他说。 “当我第一次闻到这种咖啡的香气时,我立刻知道这是我想在 WBC 服务的东西。”

他还谈到了 碳酸浸渍法 过程以及这也有助于分享他选择的咖啡的身份。

“……这不会以任何方式改变咖啡——相反,[碳酸浸渍]强化了咖啡中已经存在的内在品质,”他说。

“了解咖啡及其身份是我们自身身份的延伸。”

爱尔兰——阿尔文·赫登

爱尔兰咖啡师冠军 Arvin Khedun 对比赛并不陌生,他曾在爱尔兰参加过杯品酒师、拿铁艺术和咖啡师比赛。他第一次参加世界咖啡师锦标赛,Arvind 选择使用来自巴拿马的 Project Origin 艺妓。

Arvind 使用来自 Boquete Kotowa Estate 的“Duncan”地段的水洗咖啡,在三道不同的课程中分享了他的热情,最终制作了一款标志性饮品,其中包括搅打浓缩咖啡、减少木槿和橙花以及冷冻浓缩咖啡。

Project Origin 很自豪能够在世界舞台上成为这些优秀竞争对手的代表,并感谢他们与世界其他地方分享农民和生产者的辛勤工作。

祝贺 Agnieska 和 John 晋级半决赛,也祝贺过去两天的所有其他半决赛选手和参赛者。我们期待今晚和明天看到更多! 

如果您有兴趣了解更多关于这些竞争对手使用的咖啡的信息,请 保持联系。

图片来源:咖啡 T&I 杂志

我们的咖啡

了解我们的采购理念和我们供应的来源

News and updates

Project Origin at the World Barista Championships

The 2018 World Barista Championship is well under way, hosted by the World of Coffee expo in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

National barista champions from more than 50 countries have gathered in Amsterdam for the competition, which takes place over three days. The preliminary rounds are now over and the semi-finalists were announced early this morning, with several competitors advancing to the next stage using Project Origin-sourced coffee.

POLAND – AGNIESKA ROJEWSKA

Currently ranked in second place is Polish Barista Champion, Agnieska Rojewska. Using a Project Origin CM Selections (Diamond) lot from Ethiopia, Agnieska advances to the semi-finals for the first time.

In addition to being a semi-finalist in the world’s largest barista competition, Agnieska is a 4-time national Latte Art Champion (placing 3rd in the 2017 World Latte Art Championships), 3-time national Barista Champion, winner of the London Coffee Masters and a runner-up for the Polish Brewers Cup Championship.

NEW ZEALAND – JOHN GORDON

Also advancing to the semi-finals is the Barista Champion of New Zealand, John Gordon. His third time competing on the world stage, John has previously represented the United Kingdom at the WBC.

In his qualifying performance, John used a Project Origin-sourced CM Selections coffee from Ethiopia. In his routine, he spoke about how trips to origin and his love of technology has inspired him.

“When I took my first trip [to Ethiopia], I couldn’t help but fall in love with the country and the people,” he said to the sensory judges.

“However, I couldn’t help but notice the difficulties they face in processing coffees… this limitation in potential boils down to the accessibility to modern resources, techniques and technology.”

John said that he noticed that many washing stations and mills experienced lack of power, or power outages. He believes that the carbonic maceration process is an effective way to process coffee without risk of uncontrolled fermentation and without the need for power.

“…every variable is controlled and measured and once fermentation is complete, the cherries are removed and dried on raised beds,” he explained to the judges. The coffee he used was processed at the ZB washing station in Mesina, Ethiopia.

“The [ZB] washing station is run by Ayana,” John explained. “With the help of Project Origin, [he] conducted experimental carbonic maceration lots, which shows greater flavour diversity in Ethiopian coffees.”

SOUTH AFRICA – WINSTON THOMAS

Also returning to the world stage is South African Barista Champion, Winston Thomas. A two-time National Barista Champion and former South African Aeropress Champion, Winston also chose to use a Project Origin CM Selections lot for his performance, using a coffee from the Jasper category.

Winston’s performance focused on identity. Throughout this routine, he used information about the coffee’s flavour to share the identity of the Jasper 0818 lot with the sensory judges.

“I first fell in love with this coffee on the cupping table,” he said. “When I smelt this coffee’s aroma for the first time, I immediately knew that it was something I wanted to serve at the WBC.”

He also spoke about the carbonic maceration process and how this also helped to share the identity of the coffee he had chosen.

“….this doesn’t serve to change the coffee in any way – rather, [carbonic maceration] intensifies the inherent qualities that are already in the coffee,” he said.

“Learning about coffees and their identities is an extension of our own identities.”

IRELAND – ARVIN KHEDUN

Irish Barista Champion, Arvin Khedun is no stranger to competition, having competed in Cup Tasters, Latte Art and Barista competitions in Ireland. His first time competing at the World Barista Championships, Arvind chose to use a Project Origin-sourced geisha from Panama.

Using a washed-process coffee from the ‘Duncan’ lot of Kotowa Estate in Boquete, Arvind shared his passion in three distinct courses, culminating in a signature drink that involved whipped espresso, a hibiscus and orange blossom reduction and chilled espresso.

Project Origin is proud to have been represented by these wonderful competitors on the world stage and grateful that they are sharing the hard work of farmers and producers with the rest of the world.

Congratulations to Agnieska and John for advancing to the semi-finals, and to all other semi-finalists and competitors from the past two days. We look forward to watching more this evening and tomorrow! 

If you are interesting in learning more about the coffees used by these competitors, please get in touch.

Photo credit: Coffee T&I Magazine

Our coffee

Learn about our sourcing philosophy and the origins we supply